Summer’s Unimaginable Beauty

Summer comes & goes quickly & winter comes back far too soon, but right at this moment, summer feels lovely & fresh. 

The kids spent the weekend peeling sticks & twigs from willow branches that were downed in last week’s wicked wind storm, I think they make great decoration. 

I was concerned the garden wouldn’t survive absence this summer, so I planted lettuce & kale & let the chives & dill & last years unharvested onions take over. I put in an Icelandic Poppy that should naturalize in the cracks of the stones  & provide a draw for pollinators. I planted Lupins & hardy flowering succulents. I lost two blueberries to winterkill, so now I’m down to two left, and hoping they survive because the few berries they produce are delicious. ​

I never tire of summers under this tree. 

Leave a Reply

