School Shmool

So, after much planning & some crazy deal finding on my hubby’s part we are finally taking the littlest three boogers to Florida to visit family & due to some deals for Canadians, ‘the parks.’ All the best planning can’t change that we seem to be on track to get there just as the storms are whipping up but we did get five flights RETURN for $811! ALL TOGETHER! Not individually. That is insane. We did cash in all our points to make it happen, and take advantage of a wicked seat sale but seriously, we have never got that smokin’ of a deal. We couldn’t even fly to Calgary for that. Or anywhere within Canada for that matter. I don’t think we could take off & land right away again here for that price. 

This being said, I’m scared of both the storms & the humidity. I’m certain the warmest weather I’ve ever felt is south-western Ontario in the summer, which is humid, & can get into the thirties, but, that was when I was a kid. The Okanagam can get smokin’ hot but its dry heat, which I don’t know, they say is different & I don’t know if it’s good different or bad different. Right now the forecast is far from sunny, so who knows what my body’s reaction to real heat will do. I may melt & die an oozy disgusting death. Guess we will have to just make the most of it. Our kids that are going have never even been on a plane or out of the country so that’ll be super exciting. Whoohoo! I love surprises! Seriously, my favourite thing is surprising my kids. 

So I’m totally looking forward to making them cry. They’re going to totally cry with excitement. We’ve barely even told anyone we’re taking them for fear it gets wrecked. I just told the one secretary at the elementary school & have been hoping that because it’s the last few weeks, not much of importance is being covered. Junior High was different, & we had to let Ari know the plan, but Ari being the little student genius she is, has let her teachers know and literally completed all her Social (literally the whole unit she’ll be missing in one night) most of her Math & her science teacher seems to be stalling on putting the notes she needs online so, hopefully she’s not expecting that to be done & LA is grammar, which is a no brainer. Anyways. No one ever flunked in life because they went on vacation. School shmool. (Oops. The homeschool mom just emerged) Anyway. This is the biggest surprise we’ll have ever pulled off if it doesn’t get spoiled & I’m as excited about that as watching them when the plane takes off, that’ll be so cool for them. Then to take them around the parks & watch them go on real rides—it’s gonna be fun! Avoiding heatstroke is my main goal, and I think as mom, this is my biggest fear when it comes to taking a crew of kids somewhere like this. Thankfully they’re all getting so old & really, will fully enjoy the whole experience & seeing family who they’ve missed so much since them moving down there. Visit one of what I hope will be many for them. 

For me, it’s getting to be a comfortable place to go & be in, for my hub, even more, I think he’s been there twice as much as I in the past few years. We totally understand the snowbird thing being from the extreme dark of winter. But going from the long sunlight hours to a place more balanced but hot hot, that’s totally uncharted waters. 

Yay adventure! 

Leave a Reply

