Songwind

You cannot touch the unseen

With fingers & lips—What am I? 

Am I skin or am I an unseen universe

Clinging & quietly exploding

Birthing breath upon breath?

What raven-breath screams

From these frozen lungs & soars, this

Blue sky sculpting me into

Ever wild birds & these clouds
Clutching

The slight wind, grazing here & there,

My neck, my cheek, my inner arm, my pulse

Slowly, fading, rising, twisting my hair

The invisible has me touched

Like death & there are tears streaming

Everywhere 

I’m not just shattered glass

Aching for the blood of sliced fingers
& hungry lips,

I am this songwind & soul

Something touched & untouchable

Leave a Reply

